Removing a Management Server From a Cluster

You can see in the Management Server Explorer tree which management servers are online.

To remove an Do this...
Online management server from a cluster
  1. In the Management Server Explorer tree, select the server you want to remove.
  2. Click to remove the management server from the cluster.

    When you remove a management server from a cluster it returns to its initial state. The user name and password that were configured for the management server is retained, but any other configurations are lost.

Offline management server from a cluster If an offline management server is removed from a cluster, the server must be manually reset back to its initial state before you can return it to the cluster. To reset the management server:
  1. Open the ManagementServer\bin directory.
  2. Depending on your operating system, run either resetserver.bat or resetserver.sh against the offline management server. This script file resets the server to its initial state. If you run the resetserver.bat script on a system with UAC enabled, then you must run the script with administrator privileges.
  3. The administrative password for the management server is reset to the default value - ‘secretpassword’ after you reset the management server configuration.
If a management server is uninstalled before it is removed from a cluster, you will be prompted to reset the server when you attempt to remove it from the cluster. This message can be ignored.

 

Related Topics
Bullet Adding a Management Server to a Cluster
Bullet Working with Management Server Clusters
Bullet Configuring Management Servers for Failover